bicycle club

Close Up of Road Bike

about us & contact

The club started out life in the 1940s as Belperion Road Club before re-emerging in the mid 1970s as Belper BC, with sponsorship from Thorntons (who had a factory in the town). The club were known as Belper BC Thorntons Toffee during this period and had a very strong road and time trial team, producing many riders who competed successfully at regional, national and international level. The Thorntons sponsorship ended in 1988 when the company became a PLC.

The red and white jersey comes from the sponsorship. The late Ian Ringrose redesigned the kit with idea of the stars and stripes coming from the 1984 Olympics held in Los Angeles, USA. The kit has since had a couple of updates but still retains the red and white colours and stars and stripes theme.

Famous riders for the club through the years have included Derrick Woodings, Mike Allen, Dave Orford, Rex Butler, Mick Potts, Mark Storer and Carl Owen.

£15 per year - single membership 

£20 per year - family membership

£5 per year   - social members.

You can join by sending £15 (yearly subs) via BACS to :
Name – Belper Bicycle Club
Ref: Subs <name>
Sort Code 40-10-07
Account No. 91024078

Please also send your email address and contact details to BelperBC@gmail.com

Belper BC takes your personal data seriously and you'll be pleased to know has

a Global Data Protection GDPR policy which you can read about here:

 

Any further queries should be directed to the Information Commisioner's Officer (IOC)

 

membership

Life President

Derrick Woodings

Club Chairman (chairman@belperbc.co.uk)

Nick Bates

Club Secretary (secretary@belperbc.co.uk)

Sean Mehan & John Bumby

Vice Chairman

Bill Cotton

Treasurers

Matt White & Bill Cotton

Membership Secretary (membership@belperbc.co.uk)

Lisa White

Welfare Officers

Andy Cotton & Kris Plumley

Racing

Steve Kirk 

Women's Representatives (ladies@belperbc.co.uk)

Karen Bates & Cat Johnston

Media and Press (media@belperbc.co.uk)

Ash Mistry

Kit Officer (kit@belperbc.co.uk)

Martin Tansley

GET IN TOUCH

Belperbc.co.uk

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now